Over 10 million Italians in 856 cities and seven provinces will return to the ballots 27 and 28 May in the latest round of local elections since the parties in the centre-right coalition swept the local elections in Sicily two weeks ago.

The elections will involve 45 cities in Lazio including provincial capitals Latina, Frosinone and Rieti.

Other key cities across the country include Genoa, Parma, Verona, Lecce, Reggio Calabria. In the largest 24 cities with local voting 13 are currently governed by parties in the centre-left coalition and 11 by those in the centre-right.

Eventual run-offs elections will be held 10 and 11 June.