Clocks go back on 27 October

Daylight will begin one hour earlier from 27 October.

Clocks go back one hour at 03.00 on the night between Saturday 26 and Sunday 27 October 2019, bringing an end to daylight saving time, or 'summer' time.

Mornings will be lighter one hour earlier, meaning evenings will turn darker earlier.

The time changes occur twice a year, on the last Sunday of March and the last Sunday of October. Summer time returns again on 29 March 2020.

Earlier this year the European parliament backed a proposal to stop the obligatory twice-yearly clock change from 2021. The 28 member states will be required to choose either permanent summer time or winter time but must co-ordinate their choices to minimise risk of economic disruption in cross-border trade.

There are currently three different time zones in the EU: three countries operate under GMT (UK, Ireland and Portugal), 17 have Central European Time (GMT+1) and eight have Eastern European Time (GMT+2).